{Belated} New Years Resolutions – Fashion Edition

20 Jan

Here we are, over halfway through January, and I have yet to post the promised Fashion Resolutions I came up with. I’m a huge fan of New Year’s Resolutions. I love fresh starts, lists and improving stuff. If nothing else, it reminds me that there are always things that can be better, right?

Fashion is no exception.

New year. New me. Better style.

  1. Color. This is probably my biggest goal. Those of you who know me know that black is a staple for me.  I’ll never let that go. But I am going to make a concerted effort to buy and wear more color. I did some shopping over the weekend and ended up with quite a bit of black, but some gray, cream and navy. Neutrals. Baby steps.
  2. Be interesting. I tend to gravitate toward simplicity. Monochromatic schemes, solids rather than patterns, plain instead of ruffled, everything safe. I’d much rather be simple and boring, looking formal and clean, than try to layer something, try something new, or put together a unique outfit. I have a great closet, but it’s really not flexing its muscles at the moment. I want to put together entirely new outfits. Resist repeating. Utilize inspiration. Layer. Actually wear my pounds and pounds of jewelery that largely go unused. Just be more interesting in general. Ideas and suggestions are always welcome.
  3. Develop a Working Closet. What do I mean? Check out Kendi Everyday’s Four Step Plan for the whole process, but it essentially means I grow up. I am going out into the world, teaching and acting like an adult, so I guess its time I start dressing like one. I just need more sophisticated style overall.
  • Clean House. I get rid of all the stupid graphic t-shirts I’ve been hanging on to (goodbye Sleeping Beauty tee), skirts that don’t fit, sweaters that are falling apart.
  • Inventory. I assess what I have and what I need. I’m excited to say I have some great shopping to do {black pencil skirt, nude heels, belts and a perfect white tee}, and it’ll be nice to go with something in mind, rather than blowing all my money at Gap and Forever XXI on random stuff I fall in love with. I’ll also keep a “want” list. Of course.
  • Storage. I will organize. I need this desperately. Hello Ikea organizers!
  • SHOP, SHOP, SHOP. I don’t need telling twice. I can’t wait to hit the Nordstrom rack, the mall and H&M.

Those are my resolutions. Maybe I should be held accountable for them come December. Remind me.

If you guys have any fashion resolutions, let’s hear them!

XOXO

BYUStyle Girls

Leave a Reply

