Worth it?

16 Dec

I purchased these boots while I was in Italy at “Bata” because I really needed a pair. I was getting so sick of my vans.

I saw them. I loved them. I bought them. 70 euro. But it was worth it to me because I honestly loved them… THEN I found out that they are also sold at Famous Footwear… Lame. Was I a little upset? Absolutely, but I got over it because I still loved them. {especially that red zipper detail on the back, c’mon, that’s cool, right?}

Anyhow, the awful weather, gravel paths, and cobblestone streets totally THRASHED these boots. There was a huge hole in the bottom of them.   I was sad, but figured they had lived a good life and I would just find a new pair of boots.

Then my sister told me I should just get them resoled. I had never even heard of this idea. I took them in to Modern Shoe Repair on Center Street and they said it would cost 50 dollars to get them resoled and put a new heel on… OR I could buy the same pair again, new, for 80 dollars, OR I could just buy a totally new pair of boots. A dilemma. I hate making decisions like this.

I thought about it for 2 days and finally decided to get the original pair of boots resoled. Why? Because I love them and it was the cheapest option. Then I decided, if you love something, it makes sense to get it repaired ESPECIALLY a staple item like a great pair of boots, a classic pencil skirt, or a perfect wool coat. Get the boots resoled, fix that seam, sew on those buttons. It’s worth it.

xo xo

Eliesa

One Response to “Worth it?”

  1. Kate C December 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    Seriously?! I JUST got a pair of boots that I got in Mongolia resoled about 3 weeks ago (and got new heels) and it was only $14. Joe’s Shoe repair, right next to Smith’s. By the way, choosing to get them repaired vs. buying new ones is definitely the best option….but I would have shopped around first before making the plunge. Sorry! (P.S. There’s also another shoe repair shop just south of Joe’s, by the laser tag place across from RC Willey.)

Leave a Reply

