Spotted in Brigham Square: Puffy Vest

2 Dec

I don’t get puffy/winter vests (the jacket kind). I never have. I don’t get why someone would want to wear a coat without sleeves in the cold, blustery air. Some might say, “Well, I wear a fleece under it, so my arms are warm.”

Then, why not just wear a regular coat?

I bought a vest once. For the fall/winter season. It was on sale at Lacoste, I think that’s really the only reason I bought it. I just wanted to own a legit Lacoste article of clothing. But I have worn it twice. Twice in two and a half years. I can never find something to wear underneath the winter vest jacket. It’s always too hot to wear with just a long sleeve T in the fall and too cold in the winter. There’s never a time it works.

They just aren’t practical.

Thoughts? Am I wrong?

P.S. In my opinion, Marty McFly is the only one who can rock the sweater vest.

4 Responses to “Spotted in Brigham Square: Puffy Vest”

  1. danicanne December 2, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Sometimes I just really need to keep my core warm and my arms unrestrained.

  2. Kate C December 3, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    I actually have to disagree. Granted, I’m biased because I own a white “puffy” (subdued puffy) vest. Although I pride myself in my fashion awareness, I am not one to typically integrate anything in my actual wardrobe. I do, however, think that the vest can be done tastefully, if done right. Basically, go check out mannequins at Eddie Bauer. They have some nice layered combos of mock turtleneck sweaters with printed thermals under puffy vests. It’s not something you’d necessarily see on a runway, but I think Eddie Bauer, L.L. Bean and Land’s End are classic, casual, ski resort wear and can be done well. And as far as practicality, a vest keeps your core warm while providing mobility for your arms if you happen to be working outside while it is slightly frigid. It may lend itself to the utilitarian side of fashion, but then again, blue jeans are the product of working men’s apparel.

  3. Kel Crandall December 6, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    Guilty. I wear a jacket vest to the barn almost every day. They are perfect for riding the horses in cold weather. Perfect! But hey- I also wear cowboy boots and a belt buckle almost everywhere I go. Call me a rule-breaker!

    • danicanne December 6, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

      haha as one of the only truly acceptable places to wear a real functioning vest, I command you to not be ashamed wearing one in barn.

      Also I saw a girl in my D&C class today wearing a vest. It was actually cute. Under a coat, mind you. But it was plaid and not puffy. Keys to success.

Leave a Reply

