Spotted in the Library: American Eagle Jeans

15 Oct

While I was in the library today watching people walk by, I noticed girl after girl with the same design on the back pocket (it sounds like I was checking out their behinds, but I promise I wasn’t).

You know what design I’m talking about–the one that screams, “American Eagle!”

We all have a pair, I know I do. But I think it’s time we say goodbye to those annoying swooshes and start branching out from the bunch. There are a lot of stores out there, believe it or not, who don’t stamp their brand on your behind.

Do yourself a favor and find another pair of jeans to wear tomorrow.

xo xo

BYU Style Girls

3 Responses to “Spotted in the Library: American Eagle Jeans”

  1. i love ae jeans October 18, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    i wear ae jeans because they’re affordable when they’re on sale (which is often), they last, and i like the way they fit. i don’t have money to go out and buy jeans from gap or hollister, and in my experience, jeans from other stores that are way more edgy like wet seal or forever 21 just don’t last. plus, those jeans are almost always skinny and i still like to have some flare in my jeans. its not necessarily a status symbol to me, but an issue of comfort and money.

    • kderrick October 18, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

      Hey, I hope I didn’t offend you. Nothing is wrong with AE jeans. My point for this post was that we should simply expand our shopping behaviors, and try some jeans that the girl next to you isn’t wearing. But I 100% see where you are coming from. I refuse to pay over 30 dollars for my jeans, and even then, I still am feeling guilty and I have to LOVE those jeans. And the fit is clearly torture for me too. I wrote a post on my personal blog about that a little while ago. So searching for jeans that flatter my curvy body and my empty wallet is difficult in itself.

      But may I suggest (and since this is a byu style blog and I’m assuming you’re a byu student-I will suggest) to try a few new stores. You may be surprised on what you find. I actually love forever 21’s jeans. I have a boot cut pair from there that I got three years ago and they are still going strong. And then back this summer I found some plain dark ones there for 15 bucks. Also, you might be surprised to hear that Down East at University Mall sometimes has great sales on their jeans. They offer a wide variety in styles of jeans and aren’t ornamented with lots of stuff. If you have access to an H&M store, that place is jackpot for inexpensive, yet quality items. So, I’d give that a try too.

      If you still feel that my objectives were wrong in my post, we welcome you to send in a blog post idea and we will post it on our blog!

  2. danicanne October 18, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    I never really wear jeans, so I never buy expensive ones. Give Old Navy a try. They have a lot of awesome cuts and washes, and the outlet store on University Parkway in Orem is always a treat.

Leave a Reply

